Kentucky academy of eye physicians and surgeons

GOVERNANCE - The Academy is governed by a Board of Directors who is responsible for establishing goals and setting policy. Several committees of the Board serve various program activities. Officers are elected by the membership at-large every two years during the annual business meeting of the KAEPS. Committee Chairpersons are appointed by the President of the KAEPS and serve as the Board of Directors.


Dr. Carl Baker of Paducah was elected to a two-year term as President at the 2016 Spring Meeting.  

More information coming soon


Dr. Frank Burns of Louisville has been selected as President-elect of KAEPS. His term will begin in the summer of 2018. 

Dr. Burns brings a wealth of experience and service to KAEPS.  

  • Board Certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology
  • Fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology
  • Treasurer of the Greater Louisville Medical Society
  • Delegate to the American Medical Association from the Kentucky Medical Association, 2016-18
  • Member of the Kentucky Medical Association Board of Trustees 2016-18
  • Specializes in Cataract and Refractive Surgery including LASIK and PRK
  • Performs micro-invasive Glaucoma surgery
  • Over 25 years of surgical experience and has performed over 10,000 ocular surgical procedures
  • Medical degree from the University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Internship and Residency training at the University of Louisville
  • Served as Chief Resident for the University of Louisville Department of Ophthalmology
  • Assistant Clinical Professor for the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Louisville
  • Selected as “Top Doc” and “Top Surgeon” by his peers multiple times in Louisville Magazine
  • Actively involved in lobbying efforts to ensure that patients continue to receive safe eye surgery by well-trained Ophthalmologists in the state of Kentucky


Information Coming Soon


Carl Baker, M.D. - President

Frank Burns, M.D. - President-elect, Legislative Chair

Chip Richardson, M.D. - Secretary/Treasurer

Julie Lee, M.D. - Councilor, Immediate Past President

Woodford Van Meter, M.D. - Alternate Councilor

Kenneth Weaver, M.D. - At-Large Member

Ron Tilford, M.D. - Health Plans Relations Chair

Tom Harper, M.D. - Membership Chair

Jeff Taylor, M.D. - Bylaws Chair

Mark Kleinman, M.D. - Kentucky Ophthalmological Political Action Committee Chair

Ben Mackey, M.D. - Ethics Chair

Lucy Franklin, M.D. - YO Committee Chair

Joern Soltau, M.D. - University of Louisville Representative

Julia Stevens, M.D. - University of Kentucky Representative


  • Bylaws Committee- Review and submit proposed changes to the Bylaws to the Board and membership.
  • Ethics Committee- Establish professional standards for KAEPS members.
  • Health Plan Relations Committee- Works with all third party payers, including Medicare and Medicaid, to establish appropriate medical policies for services provided by ophthalmologists. Responds to questions from the membership. Addresses problems members are having with the appropriate third party payer. Addresses problems members are having with the appropriate managed care program.
  • KOPAC- Coordinates collection and distribution of PAC funds.
  • Legislative Committee- Work with the lobbyist and legislature on proposed rules and bills before the General Assembly and other state regulatory commissions and committees.
  • Membership Committee- Enlists and recruits qualified persons for active membership, maintains a census of ophthalmologists, and supervises a collection of demographic information regarding Kentucky ophthalmologists.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software